With the launch of the Fall 2018 CALVIN KLEIN JEANS campaign, Raf Simons, the brand’s Chief Creative Officer reimagined the famous jeans line by “bringing to a life a strong visual narrative with authenticity and youth at its core.”

“With this campaign, we wanted to represent today’s America and the new direction of CALVIN KLEIN JEANS,” commented Chief Creative Officer, Raf Simons. “The result is a display of individualism that simultaneously explores the idea of collective purpose, which is very much a reflection of the new collection – essential pieces that stand alone but together define a new denim uniform and a new way of dressing.”

A celebration of youth culture and an exploration of the notion of power in numbers, the extensive cast sets the campaign’s tone in a series of images that unite 36 individuals from across the globe together in denim.

Captured by photographer Willy Vanderperre, the group interacts on a large open-framed billboard inspired by the American flag – a visual representation that speaks to being a part of something bigger than oneself. The campaign unveils Simons’s democratic approach to jeans, while honoring CALVIN KLEIN JEANS’ tradition of championing the collective spirit of youth.

Featuring a uniquely American point of view, classic denim archetypes, such as the trucker jacket and the Western shirt, are updated through a youthful lens. A new visual vocabulary is established through patchwork pieces with graphic detailing, modern-art inspired colorblocking, and the reimagined CALVIN KLEIN JEANS logo.

The campaign, styled by Olivier Rizzo, includes model siblings Kaia and Presley Gerber, as well as brand ambassadors Lulu Tenney, Fernando Albaladejo, Dylan Christensen and Ernesto Cervantes. The campaign also features emerging talents Ariel Nicholson, Atticus Jones, Bre Anne Marie, Bizar Slovak, Codie, Conner Kownack, Dominic Augustin, Eniola Abiorio, Euro, Franco Schicke, Felix Prabitz, Hyunji Shin, Jacobi Hatch, Jeffrey Wahlberg, Kabrina Adams, Kai Bomholtz, Kayla Janowitz, L’ka, Megan Will, Michael Martin, Miles Brown, Noah Servi, Samantha Ellsworth, Sebastian Rosemarie, Selena Forrest, Skylar Tartz, Sunnaya, Tucker Tripp, Une Jonynaitte and Vanessa Vigil.

IMAGE CREDIT: © Willy Vanderperre, 2018
VIDEO CREDIT: © Shane Sigler, 2018